5 Tips for: PACKING

Welcome to addition number two of Anna’s little life tips. Since the first one went down so well, I am excited to share the next one on a topic that has been on my mind recently, what with the Big Move to Venice (1 more day!).

Packing. Not the most fun job in the world but definitely not as bad as unpacking (that’s an area I have yet to conquer). Your holiday is approaching, your move back to university is right around the corner, and there feels like there is 101 things to do. Packing should not be the most stressful of them all. Here are five handy tips to help you get on top of packing, and hopefully make the next pre-holiday to-do a little easier.

packing

1. Start Early 

Essentially, the secret to packing is organisation. I myself being naturally unorganised, now force myself through reminders and post-its everywhere, to start laying out what I want to take with me as early as a week before I go. This way, I don’t wear it and then have to wash it and cause a whole lot more hassle for myself before I fly away. As you build up a pile of items to take, the prospect of opening an empty suitcase and trying to fill it with everything you need the night before disappears.
IMG_4490  2. Prioritise
Have you worn it in the last year? No? Than the odds are you are not going to wear it on holiday. I am a terrible over packer. I always bring a bunch of clothes I know I am not going to wear because let face it, a gal needs options. My classic excuse. In fact, it just makes the suitcase heavier, makes more things to remember when you leave, and sits unused. So prioritise things that are suitable for where you are going as well as items you love. Think about the length of your trip. For example, when I arrive in Venice, the weather is sunny and hot. But since I am there until December, jumpers and coats are going to become a necessity! Save suitcase space and perhaps pack economically. 
IMG_42483. Lists, lists and LISTS

Seriously guys, lists! As you pack, write the items down somewhere (I find laptop the easiest). This is a great habit to develop for two reasons. One, this list becomes a visual summary of everything you have taken, helping you to achieve point two: prioritize. As you look down the list, look out for anything you don’t really need or might have too many of and things that are missing. Then two, take a copy of the final list with you! This way, when repacking, you can tick items off, creating peace of mind that nothing has been lost.
Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.05.34Remember to descriptively name your clothes. Helps a lot.

4. Hold Luggage VS Carry on Luggage 

Nothing frustrates me more than those people at security who hold everyone up because despite waiting in lines with clear signs about what to do when you get to conveyor belt, they have left liquids in their hand luggage, sometimes scissors, casual few sticks of dynamite…you get the idea. They the fuss around with belts and shoes and taking laptops out and it drives me nuts. Don’t be one of these people. Avoid liquids of any kind in hand luggage, all shampoos and creams into hold suitcase please. Remember you are not going to be carrying around your hold suitcase so much, so if it is on the heavy side, it’s not a problem. If your carry on is like a bag of rocks, thats going to make the travel experience far more stressful.
53ff54ee3595e0f0fd7639a3493cc003

5. Passport!

Okay, this might sound like the most obvious item in the world to remember. However, before we headed off to Gozo a few weeks ago, I arrived at J’s house the day before with the horrific realisation that I had indeed forgotten my passport. World class idiot to say the least. It resulted in a 6 hour drive home to collect the darn thing and A LOT of deserved teasing for the rest of the holiday. So put it out the day/week/month before you go because your conquering of the packing process will mean nothing if you cannot fly away.
06900c94699a755f1ccab9f0243dfdd4

All packed up and ready to go
Anna
xxx

This entry was posted in Tips, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5 Tips for: PACKING

  1. amy says:

    love your gif! i am possibly the worst packer.. i always leave it until the last minute and end up just throwing anything and everything in there! id love it if you’d comment backhttp://www.amyelizabethfashion.com/2014/09/nip-fab-skincare-review.html xx

Leave a Reply

