Big Plans for 2014!

Happy New Year!

Scary thought that another year has slipped by so quickly. And that this blog is almost a year old. The rapid demise of 2013 got me thinking about what I want for this next year, as I am sure it does for everyone. As is cliche, everyone will be raving about how the new year is a NEW opportunity to make a change, take something up, drop that bad habit. A lot of promises will be made a forgotten by March. Every year the same.
However, this does not mean it is not a good idea to think about your life and your priorities.
I certainly have been.
And I decided, that the potential 2014 has, will be put to better use. Top on my list of goals were:

  1. Be more creative
  2. Watch less TV
  3. Take more photos

As I started trolling the web for creative inspiration, for some kind of project I could throw myself into and be forced to stick to for the year, I stumbled acrossΒ Project Life. Now some of you may have heard of this as I believe it is gaining popularity in the scrap-booking community, yet there is a digital version for people with no money (ME!) and little time to sit down with paper and glue.

The basic premise of project life is to spend a year documenting your life. Not just the big moments, but the routine and the little things that make up everyday. The project provides beautiful resources, both digital and tangible, and its emphasis is FUN!

As I looked at pinterest boards, examples of spreads, and the masses of online scrapbooks, I got very very overexcited. This was perfect! The project is flexible to my schedule, will encourage me to be creative, combines photos and journalling and while simple, will teach me new skills.
So my new goal for 2014 is too create a beautiful, well-thought out document of my year, through digital scrap-booking.
I am aiming to do two double page spreads a month, to allow time to take quality photos and really think about my spreads. At the end I hope to have enough beautiful pages to send off to make a physical book, which I can flip through and remember this good year.

Β “When we document life we are not only more keenly aware of our blessings but also more motivated to cultivate a good life. ”

– Project Life Website

I will post my spreads on this blog, whilst hopefully doing some other pieces alongside it (if work doesn’t take over my life!)
I am really excited to start this, to have a creative commitment for 2014 and hope to learn a lot! Check back in for regular updates, and minor meltdowns.

First spread to hopefully come by next Monday of New Years Eve, return to uni etc etc

Happy New Year!
Anna

This entry was posted in Humour, Photography, Project Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Big Plans for 2014!

  1. Lisa says:

    Just wanted to say hey πŸ™‚ Came across your blog when googling for project life inspiration. Really love your layouts. I started this year as well, though I’m doing the physical version. It’s fun :)I am working on 2014 as we go and backtracking to do 2013 at the same time. Documenting on my blog just like you.

    • Hey Lisa! So excited you are a fellow Project Life enthusiast, I am loving it so far. I would have loved to do a physical version, if I could afford the time and cash! Thank you so much for your comment, hope to hear more from you, good luck with your PL endeavours πŸ™‚
      Anna
      xx

Leave a Reply

