Chapter 1

Image

“If we couldn’t laugh we would all go insane.”
― Robert Frost

Blogging is something which I was rigorously involved in until the June 2012 when I felt far too much of my time was being taken up by meaningless hours on the internet, spent not in the expansion of my creative mind, as my blog was originally intended, but in the fan-girling, obsessive, pop culture of today’s youth. So my popular and unhealthy habit was deleted and now, as a fully immersed university student, I have decided to take up this passion again. However, I want this to be done in a form which reflects the change in my 19 year old self, rather than the adolescent ramblings of myself at 16, that while an important part of my teenage years, are not who I am today.

As of to date, I love travel, books, light, owls, intense debate, coffee and I am a poor student with expensive taste. I enjoy the internet a lot (who doesn’t) but I am often shocked and dismayed by how some people use it for horrible acts of bullying, for degrading purposes, and negative impact. So while at one point, I felt I was being too effected by these aspects, space from having a web personality of my own has allowed me to discover the blogs which are used for good. The ones used for creative purposes, for discussion and for the freedom of ideas. These are values I want to be involved with.

So I am taking back the blogs. Taking back the Internet and using it for positive and creative means. What will make this blog significantly different from my 16 year old persona is this space will be completely public. I will not sit in some dark, troubled, self-pitying corner of the web and shake in fear that someone might discover my blog. This is a place for friends and strangers to read what I have to say and take part. This blog is not a shrine to me and my delusions that I have any kind of greatest, but a place where anyone can promote wonder, inspiration and discussion.

Thank you for being here and I am hoping you will stick around for the journey.

Here is some inspiration to give you a flavour of this place.

 

 

“Soon the sun’s warmth makes them shed crystal shells, Shattering and avalanching on the snow crust- such heaps of broken glass to sweep away, You’d think the inner dome of heaven had fallen.”

Robert Frost, Birches

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

